Go to Top
Revolution Slider Plugin has been detected! Please deactivate this Plugin to prevent themecrashes and failures!


CASWE-ACFTS Welcomes New President and Three New Board Members

May, 2017. Following its May 31st Annual General Meeting at Ryerson University during Congress, the Association welcomes Dr. Susan Cadell as President, Dr. Billie Allen as Director, Dr. Heather Peters as Director and Ms. Vina Sandher as Director. Dr. Sheri McConnell was re-elected as Vice-President. Dr. Dixon Sookraj, outgoing President, as well as the retiring Directors, Dr. Carolyn Campbell, Dr. Shelly Johnson and Ms. Sheila Sammon were thanked for their service and commitment to the Association. The Association’s new Board of Directors for 2017-2018.



Outstanding Student Proposals

May 2017 – The Canadian Association for Social Work Education – Association canadienne pour la formation en travail social (CASWE-ACFTS) aims to provide funding support to student members who have the most promising presentation submissions and who are registered to attend the Annual Conference of CASWE-ACFTS. The purpose of the award is to promote high-quality social work education and practice, and to encourage more student participants to attend and present at the Annual Conference of CASWE-ACFTS. Every year, five awards are provided for up to $500 each, with two awards to be allocated to undergraduate students, another two to master’s students, and one to a doctoral student. The 2017 winners are:


Brenda Polar,PhD candidate, York University, Conceptualizing collaboration between Indigenous racialized immigrants and Aboriginal peoples.




Kelly Isenor, BSW student, Dalhousie University, Ethical decision making in social work: An online tool for NS practitioners.




Melanie Doucet, PhD student, McGill University, Moving past the textbook to support youth leaving care in post-secondary institutions: A youth in care alumni panel discussion.




Dr. Peter Donahue 2017 OASW Recipient

March, 2017. Inspirational Leader Award.




Dr. Ginette Berteau is the IASWG 2017 International Honoree

June, 2017. Each year the International Association for Social Work with Groups Board (IASWG)  votes for one or two persons to award at the IASWG Symposium the honor of being the “IASWG International Honoree”, recognizing the person’s extensive contributions to group work and IASWG. This year the Board members voted enthusiastically and unanimously to award Dr. Ginette Berteau this special honor as the “IASWG 2017 International Honoree”.



Dr. Wanda Thomas Bernard Appointed to the Senate of Canada

October, 2016. Congratulations to Dr. Wanda Thomas Bernard Appointed to the Senate. For more information, please click on this link: Wanda Thomas Bernard.



Dr. Shelly Johnson Nominated Canada Research Chair

December, 2016. Congratulations to Dr. Shelly Johnson who was nominated Canada Research Chair in Indigenization in Higher Education at the Faculty of Education and Social Work at Thompson Rivers University (TRU). Dr. Johnson (Mukwa Musayett) is Saulteaux of the Keeseekoose First Nation in Saskatchewan. This is the first Research Chair in Indigenization in Higher Education. Dr. Johnson is a recognized leader in Aboriginal research methodologies and Aboriginal Leadership. She begins this position in January 2017. For more information, please click on the following link: Indigenization in Higher Education.



The 3 Pillars of Social Work sign Historic Agreement

 June, 2016 – The Canadian Association for Social Work Education – l’Association canadienne pour la formation en travail social (CASWE-ACFTS), the Canadian Council of Social Work Regulators (CCSWR), and the Canadian Association of Social Workers (CASW) met in Winnipeg, Manitoba on June 12, 2016 to sign a historic Memorandum of Understanding (MOU). The purpose of the MOU is to foster communication, connection and collaboration among these three pillars of the profession.  Please view the signed agreement here.



CASWE-ACFTS President Signs on to Call for Action. Social Work for Social Action: A Call to Action

November, 2016. The U.S. Presidential Election (2016) has highlighted the complex and intersecting oppressions experienced by those who are Indigenous, racialized, LGBTTIQQ2SA*, gender nonconforming/fluid, women, those living with disabilities, migrants, and those who have non/precarious status within and across nation-states. At this critical moment in our global history, we—social work students, faculty, staff, administration and alumni across Canada— acknowledge our personal, professional, and ethical responsibility to respond to the increasing racism, colonialism, sexism, Islamophobia, anti-Semitism, homophobia, transphobia, ableism, ageism, classism, and white nationalism experienced by those who are marginalized.For more information please click on the following link: A call to action – CASWE-ACFTS.