Go to Top
Revolution Slider Plugin has been detected! Please deactivate this Plugin to prevent themecrashes and failures!


Dr. Shelly Johnson Appointed as a Canada Research Chair

Congratulations to Dr. Shelly Johnson who was been appointed as a Tier II Canada Research Chair in Indigenizing Higher Education, at the Faculty of Education and Social Work, Thompson Rivers University (TRU). Dr. Johnson (Mukwa Musayett) is Saulteaux from Keeseekoose First Nation in Saskatchewan. This is the world’s first research Chair in Indigenizing higher education. Dr. Johnson is a recognized leader in Indigenous research methodologies and leadership. She begins her …Read More

CASWE-ACFTS and the National Indigenous Accreditation Board Sign an Agreement in Principle

The Canadian Association for Social Work Education – l’Association canadienne pour la formation en travail social (CASWE-ACFTS), and the National Indigenous Accreditation Board (NIAB) met in Calgary, Alberta on May 29th, 2016 and signed an Agreement in Principle. The Agreement in Principle commits both organizations to undertake a collaborative process to support the development of an Agreement of Mutual Recognition of Accredited Bachelor of Social Work Degrees. To see a …Read More

In memory of Glenn Drover.

The CASWE-ACFTS community is saddened to learn of the passing of Glenn Drover in December 28th, 2015. Glenn contributed significantly to social work education and practice in Canada and beyond. He served as Director/Dean of social work programs at Dalhousie, Carleton and UBC. He was editor of the Canadian Social Work Review and of the Canadian Review of Social Policy, and also President of the Canadian Association of Social Workers. …Read More