Go to Top
Revolution Slider Plugin has been detected! Please deactivate this Plugin to prevent themecrashes and failures!

Board of Directors

The CASWE-ACFTS Board of Directors (BOD) is responsible for planning and overseeing the activities and policies of the Association and is accountable to the General Assembly of CASWE-ACFTS members. The term of office for Directors is three years and members may stand for re-election for one consecutive term for a total of six years.

The Board can have a maximum of 14 members. There are currently 13 members.

Stéphane Grenier
President (2019-2021)
Treasurer: (2016-2019)
Liaison : Schools of Social Work in Québec
Term : 2015-2018, 2018-2021
Université du Québec en Abitibi-Témiscamingue




Judy White
Treasurer (2019)
Term: 2019-2021
University of Regina







Billie Allan
Liaison: Thunderbird Circle – Indigenous Social Work Educators’ Network
Term: 2017-2020, 2020-2023
University of Victoria



Céline Bellot
Liaison: Canadian Association of Deans and Directors of Schools of Social Work
Term: 2019-2022
Université de Montréal






Janice Chaplin
Term: 2020-2023
McMaster University





Shirley Chau
Term: 2020-2023
University of British Columbia, Okanagan Campus





Ravi Gokani
Term: 2019-2022
Lakehead University





Suzanne Lacelle
Term: 2020-2023
Laurentian University





Raymond Neckoway
Term: 2020-2023
Lakehead University



Sébastien Savard
Liaison : Committee on Francophone Social Work in Linguistic Minority Contexts
Term: 2016-2019, 2019-2022
École de service social, Université d’Ottawa





Anita Vaillancourt
Liaison and Co-Chair, Social Policy and Advocacy Committee
Term: 2015-2018, 2018-2021
School of Social Work and Human Services, University of the Fraser Valley





Directors of the Board act as a liaison to a variety of constituents engaged in social work education in Canada that include the following:

  • The Quebec Schools of Social Work
  • The Canadian Association of Deans and Directors of Schools of Social Work
  • Thunderbird Circle-the Indigenous Social Work Educators Network
  • The Commission on Accreditation
  • The International Affairs Committee
  • The Student Committee
  • The Field Education Committee
  • The Social Policy and Advocacy Committee
  • The Committee on Francophone Social Work in Linguistic Minority Contexts
  • The Finance Committee
  • The Educational Policy Committee
  • The Nominating Committee

The BOD’s responsibilities vary and include the following activities:

  • The development, amendment and approval of educational policy for social work education;
  • The approval of accreditation standards and procedures;
  • The promotion of advocacy and a national and international voice on social work and social work education;
  • The management of the Association’s finances and accounting;
  • The provision of oversight to all of the CASWE-ACFTS Board committees, subcommittees, committees, commissions, and taskforces/working groups;
  • The creation of committees charged with the task of designing and implementing the program of conferences, and other fora, under terms of reference established by the BOD;
  • The endorsement and support (financially and/or otherwise) all groups which report to the Board of Directors annually;
  • The receipt and adjudication of accreditation appeals;
  • The approval of appointments for committee positions;
  • The hiring and evaluation of the Executive Director;
  • The collaboration with the Quebec Schools of Social Work, the Canadian Association of Deans and Directors of Schools of Social Work, and Thunderbird Circle – the Indigenous Social Work Educators Network (ISWEN) in carrying out its responsibility;
  • The development of a yearly action plan in consultation with the membership.