The Three Pillars of Social Work sign Historic Agreement

OTTAWA, June 30, 2016 – The Canadian Association for Social Work Education – l’Association canadienne pour la formation en travail social (CASWE-ACFTS), the Canadian Council of Social Work Regulators (CCSWR), and the Canadian Association of Social Workers (CASW) met in Winnipeg, Manitoba on June 12, 2016 to sign a historic Memorandum of Understanding (MOU). The purpose of the MOU is to foster communication, connection and collaboration among these three pillars of the profession.  Please view the signed agreement here.

The three Intersectoral pillars represent social work education, regulation, and the professional association in Canada, and the MOU builds on a history of collaboration between these three organizations, providing a framework to identify, prioritize, and address issues of shared concern. The MOU will also serve to unite and promote the social work profession, strengthening the ability of the three pillars to speak with a unified voice.

The Canadian Council of Social Work Regulators (CCSWR) represents all provincial/territorial social work regulatory authorities in Canada.

CASWE-ACFTS is a bilingual, Canadian association with a social justice focus that promotes excellence in social work education, practice and scholarly activities.  It does this through the enrichment of social work education, the accreditation of social work educational programs in Canada, advocacy, research, publication, consultation and collaboration at both Canadian and international levels.

The Canadian Association of Social Workers (CASW) is the national professional association. CASW promotes and strengthens the profession, supports its members, and advances issues of social justice.

For further information:

Dr. Dixon Sookraj
President of CASWE-ACFTS

Scroll to Top