Go to Top
Revolution Slider Plugin has been detected! Please deactivate this Plugin to prevent themecrashes and failures!


Outstanding Student Proposals

May, 2017. The Canadian Association for Social Work Education – Association canadienne pour la formation en travail social (CASWE-ACFTS) aims to provide funding support to student members who have the most promising presentation submissions and who are registered to attend the Annual Conference of CASWE-ACFTS. The purpose of the award is to promote high-quality social work education and practice, and to encourage more student participants to attend and present at the Annual Conference of CASWE-ACFTS. Every year, five awards are provided for up to $500 each, with two awards to be allocated to undergraduate students, another two to master’s students, and one to a doctoral student. The 2017 winners are:

Brenda Polar, PhD candidate, York University, Conceptualizing collaboration between Indigenous racialized immigrants and Aboriginal peoples.



Kelly Isenor, BSW student, Dalhousie University, Ethical decision making in social work: An online tool for NS practitioners.




Melanie Doucet, PhD candidate, McGill University, Moving past the textbook to support youth leaving care in post-secondary institutions: A youth in care alumni panel discussion.




Dr. Peter Donahue is a Recipient of an OASW Award

Dr. Peter Donahue believes that his social work training and education have provided him with the tools to successfully navigate future pathways that await him in his career: “The application and embracing of basic foundational social work skills have opened so many doors for me and created opportunities that I never would have dreamed existed when I started on my social work journey.” Peter Donahue, B.Sc., B.A., MSW, Ph.D., RSW, is Director, Graduate Program Chair and Associate Professor of King’s University College’s School of Social Work at Western University since 2015.  For more information please click on the following link: Inspirational Leader Award.

Dr. Shelly Johnson Appointed as a Canada Research Chair

Congratulations to Dr. Shelly Johnson who was been appointed as a Tier II Canada Research Chair in Indigenizing Higher Education, at the Faculty of Education and Social Work, Thompson Rivers University (TRU). Dr. Johnson (Mukwa Musayett) is Saulteaux from Keeseekoose First Nation in Saskatchewan. This is the world’s first research Chair in Indigenizing higher education. Dr. Johnson is a recognized leader in Indigenous research methodologies and leadership. She begins her position in January 2017. For more information please click on the following link: Indigenizing Higher Education.

Dr. Wanda Thomas Bernard Appointed to Senate

Dr. Wanda Thomas Bernard, professor at Dalhousie University’s School of Social Work, has been appointed to the Senate of Canada.Dr. Bernard, who also serves as the university’s special advisor, diversity and inclusiveness, becomes the first African Nova Scotian woman to serve in the Senate Chamber. Following changes made to the Senate selection process by the federal government in 2015, Dr. Bernard applied to represent Nova Scotia in the Chamber this past summer. Dr. Bernard has taught and conducted research in the area of anti-oppression and diversity at Dalhousie since 1990, served as director of the School of Social Work from 2001-2011 and took on the role of special advisor, diversity and inclusiveness earlier this year. She says her academic work will inform her approach as a Senator. Please click here for more information.

The Three Pillars of Social Work sign Historic Agreement

The Canadian Association for Social Work Education – l’Association canadienne pour la formation en travail social (CASWE-ACFTS), the Canadian Council of Social Work Regulators (CCSWR), and the Canadian Association of Social Workers (CASW) met in Winnipeg, Manitoba on June 12, 2016 to sign a historic Memorandum of Understanding (MOU). The purpose of the MOU is to foster communication, connection and collaboration among these three pillars of the profession. For more information please click on the following link: Intersectoral Committee Terms of Reference.